Response to Readers and Homemade Laundry Soap!

20 Jul

In response to my last blog post I had a friend who was wondering why I never mentioned my husband.  So I thought I would take a moment to answer the question for the rest of you who might be wondering the samething. In an effort to keep things concise I left out a good deal of details; mostly relating to how I got to feeling so overwhelmed and alone. I have been blessed with an amazing husband. At the time of the lesson in my last post we were in the middle of our first deployment and I was desperately missing my best friend (my husband) and wondering how I was going to make it to the end of the deployment. All I wanted was my husband to come home.  Even though getting a phone call minutes after bedtime and the first thing you hear after you pick up is “Is Sara still awake? Do I get to read her a bedtime story?” makes me smile I was longing for my teammate back. We are now coming to the end of our second deployment together (hence the reminiscing and thankfulness for all the support) I still anxiously await his return but this time I know with God and everything He has given me I am going to be more than okay.

Here is our first money saving and cleaning tip all in one! This is my most requested recipe from friends. I have yet to get a bad review either! My friends who use cloth diapers have told me that their diapers have never been cleaner.

Homemade Laundry Soap

1 Fels-Naptha OR Zote soap bar
1 Cup – Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda*
½ Cup Borax

Grate soap and process in a food processor until powdered. Mix all ingredients.

For light load, use 1 Tablespoon.

For heavy or heavily soiled load, use 2 Tablespoons.

Yields:
3 Cups detergent. (Approx. 40 loads)

*Arm & Hammer “Super Washing Soda” Baking Soda will not work, nor will Arm & Hammer Detergent – It must be sodium carbonate! There are pictures of the ingredients below.

I use the Zote bar because I grew up with it being used to treat stains but have friends who use and like both brands of soap. I have found that the soap grates easier when it is dry so when I get it home from the store I unwrap it and store it on the shelf in my laundry room until I am ready to make soap. I have also found that it does not food process into a powder unless you like it dry. So, either let it dry out before or after you grate it to get the best results.

I find all three ingredients at Walmart in the laundry detergent isle. Walmart has also started selling pre-grated Zote bars so all you have to do it food process it and go. Just remember there are 2 bars per bag when you buy it pre-grated so remember to double your other ingredients!

My last helpful piece of information is there are 3 types of Zote bars White, Blue, and Pink. All will work for making your soap but I think the white cleans the best.

If you already make your own laundry soap and have any helpful hints please comment with them below! If you try out this recipe please let me know what you think. For quick access to the recipe at a later date I have posted it for you under the recipes tab!

Be on the look out for our first Meal Plan on Sunday!

3 Responses to “Response to Readers and Homemade Laundry Soap!”

  1. Leslie July 20, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    So sorry you’re missing your husband. God is good and He always provides.

    I am curious to try your laundry soap. I tried a dry version once, and hated it, but it was very different from your recipe. I have been making the liquid version, and really like the results, but don’t like having to store it all and haven’t perfected the art of keeping it from clumping!!!!

    Super eager to follow your blog and hear more of how God is working in your family’s life.

    • carolynjohns3 July 20, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      If you get a chance to try out this recipe let me know how you like it. I have been using it for about 2 1/2 years and have yet to have problems! I calculated it a while ago and have only spent about $12 for 2 years worth of laundry soap!

      I cannnot wait to continue to share with all of you but also encourage each other as well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Always Learning « No Lack of Gain - July 31, 2012

    […] your reading tonight, I’d like to encourage you to head over to Mom to Mom and check out her laundry soap recipe.  I have tried my hand at making laundry soap in the past but haven’t perfected getting the […]

Leave a Reply

